Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » RossTraining.com Forums » Strength and Conditioning

Post subject: Homemade Incline Sit-up Bench
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:10 am 
Site Admin

Homemade Incline Sit-up Bench

Background Info

Last week, I set out to build an incline sit-up bench. My old model was more than ready to retire. Before deciding to build, I first reviewed several store models, but noticed that most were not as steep as I'd like, and the prices were outrageous for such a simple tool. Incline sit-ups are far from our primary source of core work, so I couldn't see spending so much money to perform the exercise. Prices ranged from $100+ to upwards of $500.

Warning

I am not an expert builder. I'm far from it. Build at your own risk. This design is VERY basic. I'm sure you could do much better. I'm not trying to win a design contest. I want a simple bench that gets the job done.

Needs
  • A bench that could be set as steep as necessary
  • A bench that could be stored on overhead shelves to save space when not in use
  • A strong bench that could support a heavyweight fighter
  • A bench that was easy to construct. I didn't want a week long project for a simple sit-up bench.

Design Specifics

2x4's were used to build the base of the bench. The bench is simply four 2x4's. The length of the bench is just shy of 7 feet. The back side of the bench looks like this:

The bench attaches to the wall by connecting eye hooks (from both the bench and wall).

A small piece of chain with a spring link end is used to make the connection:

Optional - The incline angle could be adjusted by repositioning the bench on the wall. You would simply need to secure eye hooks at various heights.

I used an old curtain rod holder and dowel as a foot holder on the bench. The curtain rod holder was screwed and set with a strong adhesive for added safety.